INTRODUCTION

The University of Southern California, Deparment of Degree Progress.For the need of code that allows the identification of postsecondary schools during the EDI data exchange, is how GEOCODE was born. USC partnered with national and international nonprofit workgroups to create a unified code set for all postsecondary schools on planet Earth. This code set, defined as GEOCODE, is a KEY building block to the EDI and XML electronic data exchange. The function of this project is to take the current output ofthe GEOCODE data set, and build a data reader that allows dynamic reporting and viewing of this data.

W. Matthew Bemis

Project Lead (EDI Initiative, USC)
Email: wbemis@usc.edu

  

The GEOcode project was born out of a need to globally exchange postsecondary transcript data through standardized Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) transactions. While most countries have native indices used for domestic EDI data exchange, no ‘master index’ for every postsecondary school on our planet existed prior to GEOcode. USC processes more than 16,000 EDI transactions a year, 3,700 of which include prior degree information indexed by GEOcode for those students who earned degrees outside of the United States.

TEAM MEMBERS

Anamarie Ha

Software Architect + UML Modeler

Email: anamarie@usc.edu

Ashi Ranka

Feasibility Analyst + Prototyper

Email: aranka@usc.edu

Damini Cousik

Implementer + Quality Focal Point

Email: cousik@usc.edu

Karthik Kenkere

Software Architect + Implementer

Email: kenkeres@usc.edu

Pawandeep Gill

Requirements Engineer + Prototyper

Email: psgill@usc.edu

Sriramkumar Thamizharasan

Implementer + Project Manager

Email: sthamizh@usc.edu

Suchetha Bhat

Project Manager + OCE

Email: sibhat@usc.edu

Vidhubala Selvaraj

Life Cycle Planner + Tester

Email: vidhubal@usc.edu